You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 4th, 2021, 01:15 PM   #1
vinitchaturvedi
Member
India

vinitchaturvedi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: India
Posts: 1
One Motor as Master and other Two Motor as Slave

I have to make a logic in which one motor function as master and other two as slave but it depends upon user input, user can assign any motor as master. Let's say user gives 20 as a input and this number will divide in 5:3:2 ratio that means first number denotes Master motor and remaining two number for Slave run time. I have given this task to make program on my new AB MicroLogix 1400 PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2021, 01:27 PM   #2
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,483
When I think of motors set up in a master/slave relationship I think of the slave's speed being controlled by the master. When the master's speed increases or decreases, the slave's speed increases or decreases along with it. That doesn't sound like what you're describing, but I can't picture what you want the motors to do.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2021, 01:32 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,865
Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

It sounds like you are describing a "lead / lag" pump control logic for runtime, not for speed or position control.

The more context and detail you can provide, the better.

A basic "how do I program a lead/lag system" is a common controls challenge that's often a question in technical schools. If you are a student, please let us know and show as much of your work as you can.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2021, 06:11 PM   #4
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinitchaturvedi View Post
I have to make a logic in which one motor function as master and other two as slave but it depends upon user input, user can assign any motor as master. Let's say user gives 20 as a input and this number will divide in 5:3:2 ratio that means first number denotes Master motor and remaining two number for Slave run time. I have given this task to make program on my new AB MicroLogix 1400 PLC.
Is this for a real job?

User can select any motor as master? OK...

Why not just select the motors you want to run and how long you want them to run and start?

So many questions, but this sounds like homework.

Last edited by VAN; May 4th, 2021 at 06:12 PM. Reason: being more nice
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 AM.


.