advice on my first ladder program

HornerPLC

Hello:

Goal

1. record time a sensor is on
2. delay signal for 3 seconds
3. send signal to motor and have it run for as long as the sensor did

I have been attempting to use ondelay timer but it just sends a small signal after the delay. should I use retentative timer?

Thanks

Can you post any of your program? If it is a Windows program and can print your work the you may be able to use a PDF printer such as CUTEPDF or PDF995 to 'print' to a PDF file which you can then post here. Just Google those names. I happen to use CUTEPDF Writer (free) for this purpose.

If not describe how you are attempting to solve this problem? Since you seem to be in a learning environment, either a formal school or are attempting to learn yourself, we will adopt a 'help by discovery' type mode. It will help you learn faster than just giving answers.

This is my first try (very simple I think). I put a relay on the output end of my PLC and it will delay for 5 seconds and then turn the relay on for a split second and then starts all over again. Im not sure how to have the relay stay on as long as the sensor input did. thanks.

1ST TRY.jpg

The details will vary depending on the brand of PLC you're using. Read the manual for a description of what timer functions are available in your model and how they work.

Think of how you might program this if you were doing the timing using a stopwatch. Three seconds after the sensor goes on, start the motor. Three seconds after the sensor goes off, stop the motor.

It sounds like you want the motor to run for the same amount of time that the sensor is on, but start three seconds after the sensor turns on.