Profibus communication problems with WinCC v6.0 and Step7 after windows crash

DarrenG

Hi all,

I will try and give as much info as possible to begin with but I am a graduate thrown in at the deep end so bear with me please.

Upon restarting one of the old HMI's in one of the plants there was a windows error that was preventing it from booting up properly, some issue with the system folder so we set it off for repair. When we got it back WinCC and the Automaton Licence Manager would not open. It seemed like the files for these programs were deleted from the same system folder that was causing windows not to load. I reinstalled WinCC, Simatic Net and the Automation Licence Manager and they're running fine now but when I go to run time in WinCC I am not getting any communication to the field devices.

I installed WinCC v6.0, Simatic Net 2005 Edition + HF1 and Automation Licence Manager v2.0 I believe (not sure if this is the correct version of Simatic Net I should have installed, there is a disc with "Hotfix 11 to Simatic Net 07/2001 + SP5" and "Hotfix 6 to Simatic Net 11/2003" too which I did not install). In the "Set PG-PC Interface" CP_L2_1 is pointing to CP5613_CP5614(Profibus) as is S7Online, the access point is currently set to S7Online.

I rang Siemens twice for some advice but they only asked me to check the PG-PC interface and said this version was no longer supported so could not help me further without an engineer calling out.

I have added screen shots of some of the profibus property windows in case this sheds more light on the potential issue. My problem is that I've never troubleshooted a connection issue before so this is all new to me. In Uni the focus was on desiging graphics, ladder logic etc so any help is greatly appreciated.

In the Station Configuration Editor it is showing as being offline and the only station showing is on line 125 "Station manager", should there be anything else in here?

Thanks in advance,

Darren