Communications

ieseng

Hi all,
I'm a newbie on this forum but have been using this site for quite a while and was thinking that it's time to use the forum for what it's designed for. Getting help from other Automation engineers.

Anyhow I got another question that I hope someone can help me make the correct decision on.

I am designing a seperate project (not the same one from my last post) and have three SLC503's (1747-L531) and a SCADA (Intouch). I have a 485 network between the 3 PLC's and they are using link couplers to communicate to each other (1747-AIC).

The problem I have is in deciding on how will I get the SCADA to communicate to all 3 PLC's? I can use a 232 cable to the first PLC and use messaging between the three PLC so that the SCADA only communicates with the first PLC or I can use what I have been told of a KE box? This KE box (not sure what this is) I am told will get the SCADA onto the 485 network so it can then see all 3 PLC's and I can do away with my messaging.

Anyone got some advice on the easiest and most reliable way to do this.

I have attached a picture of what I see the network design is at the moment.

My budget is a little restricted but I am sure if the KE box thingy is not too expensive then I should be able to use it.

Thanks.

networkdesign.jpg

Personaly from experince I would swap out the 5/03 and replace them with 5/05's for the ethernet and faster processor speed. DH485 probally will not cut it here in this application.
If your buildings do not have a network already installed and they are physically close then go for a wireless netwok.

If the KE box is in the budget use it. Communicating directly to each PLC is always better. If the first PLC with all the messaging logic gets hosed your communication network goes down. (not good).

I would probably use a 1747-UIC (USB to DH485 adapter).