How to automatically addressing AS-i slave nodes?

pboll

Hi guys,

I have a Siemens CP-343-2P master module and some slaves, but I don't have an addressing device, according to the manuals, it seems I can addressing those slaves automatically, but how? I checked from siemens website, but I can't find any help on that. Is there anybody knows how to do that?

Thanks.

I worked with Siemens ASI recently. A total automatic programming is in my opinion not possible. What I did was:

1- Make youre step 7 hardware configuration for the ASI network
2- Manually address all the slaves in the network
3- Make the network faultless.

When a network is operational without configuration errors then the option off automatic addressing becomes possible. If the network detects that ASI slave 5 is missing it will automattically program a new slave of the same type and address 0, to replace the removed slave 5.

So when a slave is defective the working order is:

-Disconnect the slave from the network
-Place a new slave with address 0 and off the same type in the network.

Now the master will detect and automattically address the slave.

When there are multiple slaves off the same type missing then automatically addressing is not working.

So the option is mostly effective for maintenance engineers.

When you say manually address all the slaves, is that mean using an addressing device or use STEP7 ?

If it's through STEP7, how do I know the parameters (in Slave Configuration tab of CP343-2P properties in HW Config) like:

Slave type, I/O Configuration, ID code, ID1 & ID2 code?

Of course and bit0 1 2 3 if it's static or not?

Thanks.

We don't like to use the Siemens ASi masters.

We use a third party master that works very well with that kind of stuff.

I think Werner is right about the automatic addressing option. It is only for replacing a defective slave.