Strange Modicon Problem

Tech7

Hey all you Modicon experts out there. Have you ever had a PLC logic program tell you the output is on when in fact it is not? We have a Modicon 984-230 that is saying this output is on but there is no led on the card lit and there is no voltage on the output terminal. We had the same problem about 3 months ago which I fixed by changing an output card and reloading the program. Not really sure which one fixed it. My theory is the output cards are failing due to age and they must be dragging down the internal power supply. Can anyone tell me how to prove this? Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

Tech7

I've had this happen twice in the last 2 months on 2 different Modicon platforms. In both cases it appears that the output channel just went bad. On the first one, I replaced the card. On the second one, I forced an unused output on the card and it worked, so I just used that channel and rewired it. I'm new to Modicon though, so that's about all I got.

Depending on the output card...If it is a diagnostic output card then the card looks for a small current..(I think 250ma) over time this value sometimes changes..If the card is driving a small load such as a pilot light or small relay it might not meet the min current it then shuts down the output..But appears to be on the logic.
The work around for this is to put a pull up resistor on the load..
on the 984-685 i had you could check if they were diagnostic cards from the traffic cop.. They used 32 output addresses AND 32 Input addresses..The inpuit addresses were used for diagnostics..Eg. if your out put was 0001-00032 and the inputs from the output card were 10001-10032 then input 10001 would be on if output 00001 was on and working..

D