Startup and Shutdown

kurt.brinker

I am monitoring the amperage on a motor1. If motor1 exceeds current limit2, i kill the entire operation and it must be manually restarted. If it goes above current limit1, i kill motor2 and motor3. Motor 2&3 feed motor1 so by killing them, motor one has time to finish its task and in turn, drop its amperage back down to an acceptable level.

My only problem is that they want motor 2&3 to come back online if the amperage drops back down to an acceptable level. I have it set so that motor1 must be running and the amperage is below a set value for more than XX seconds, i can use the dn bit to re-enable the motors. I don't know why they would run motor1 without the other 2 on but i don't want those to start automatically unless it is after a failure. How would one do that? Does that make any sense? I'm not the greatest as explaining stuff. Please let me know if there is something faulty about what i wrote. I am still learning this.

One thing that helps in any analysis is to break down the final action into its constituent parts and handle them separately.

Your description kind of tossed everything together but in all cases there are really (at least) two things required for the motors to run:
1) Do you (the operator) want the motor to run
2) Is the motor allowed to run

Think of it kind of like an enable and a permissive. Code each function separately and combine the effects at the output driver. Ultimately this approach will allow you greater freedom in how the system acts and make it easier to modify if you need to.

Keith

that got me thinking.

i bet a could latch B3.X when the limit1 is exceeded and then make that condition for the motors to turn on. The dn bit from the restart would unlatch it.

does that make sense

My first thought is safety naturally, can anyone be harmed becaused the motors have stopped but may start on their own?