Am I getting ripped off on my new PLC/HMI install?

gregjwilson

I've got a new machine coming in: AB PLC and HMI already set up to show production numbers. They are offering a CSV data file output for a (to me) knucklehead amount of money.

A. What the heck is a CSV data file.

B. If they've already got the register info going to the HMI screen, what the heck extra is the extra cash for to put it in some other file?

There are a number of ways to do it. A program can be written for a computer that uses one of the A-B protocols and its associated hardware to request data from the PLC and it will send it back, then the program writes the data to the flat file.

Or, the SLC's serial port can be use to send out CSV data (via logic commands) as if it was writing out to a printer and a PC reads it in its serial port and stores the data into a flat file.

The HMI may be capable of saving data also but it would depend on the brand and type.

My background is hardware side, so I apologize up front if I sound like a moron, but
This would be fairly straightforward? Particularily if this is a large vendor and have probably done something like this before.

I'm talking a stupid amount of money.

Well it all depends.
It's something they've done before, how custom your ap is, how specialized your field is, etc.

It all depends.

You have to remember that when you purchase a feature, you are paying for all of the previous development time and the actual added value of the feature. They have come up with a price that they think they can charge. The actual cost to them may now be minimal, but they have to recover development costs somehow. The alternative for you would be to do it yourself, but I think it would end up costing more in the long run.

Disclaimer: I am looking at this from the perspective of an integrator. :)

No matter what it costs, you are only getting ripped off if you don't get enough value out of the function to justify it's cost.