Rs linx lite Communication

hello guys,

I am new to AB and found the RSLogix English version ( witout the activation )I do have the RSLINX Lite which came with the software, now can anybody guide me as to ,if possible ,how I can connect / view the program in the PLC through RSLINX even when I donot have the activation, is it possible to view other programs in .rss format with this . I hear that for Rs linx lite I donot not need activation.

I have a ML 1000, a step by step guide would be very helpful

I know that you pros have all the answers, would anybody care to guide me ? Thanx in advance

Anshuman

Anshuman,
RSLinx Lite is a communications program, that helps to connect a computer to a PLC. It is not designed to view RSLogix programs. Essentially there is no way to view RSLogix PLC programs without a copy of the RSLogix software. Here is another alternative that allows viewing of the I/O, but not the ladder program:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=29981

You can download a Demonstration version of RSLogix500 for the Micrologix 1000 that allows up to 10 Inputs and Outputs, from the AB.com site. That is your best alternative, if you cannot purchase the RSLogix program.

Here is a link to the free 10-point Micrologix 1000 RSLogix program. It will ask for your username and password. If you aren't registered then you will have to register to continue. Then it asks for your name to "qualify for an update". Since this particular program is free, then you will qualify when you enter your name. You need a high=speed connection to download the program in a reasonable time.

https://shopsecure.rockwellautomation.com/RA/secure/profile/unifiedReg.jsp?myAction=Verify&myFromPage=http://support.rockwellautomation.com/_mem_bin/redir.asp

But do consider yourself warned... That free software works only with one specific model of MicroLogix 1000. If you don't have that particular model, the software will not connect!