Using GX Developer FX

jb61264

First let me say thank goodness for this forum!...I am an IT manager for a bioprocess manufacturing facility and our lead programmer departed leaving us a little high and dry on some issues in our fermentation lab.

We have fermentors that use PLC's for control and our previous manager had ordered the application GX Developer FX to "map" the registers?...basically what I need to do is to find out how to use the application "GX Developer FX" from Mitsubishi to simply map the PLC registers in our fermentor.

I don't want to change anything...just map the existing registers...I hope I am using the correct terminology when I say "register"...it is what has come up on conversation when discussing this internally.

I would appreciate any advice or direction anyone could give me.

And what do you mean by 'mapping' registers? If you want to know what are the values stored in registers, then you need to make use of monitoring functions.
There are several available in GX Developer, all of them accessible from Online->Monitor menu.

From that menu: 'Device batch' lets you see the values of consecutive registers of same type. Just type a device you want to be the beginning of the batch into the box in the upper left corner.
'Entry data monitor' on the other hand allows you to simultaneously monitor registers of diffirent types. Use 'Register devices' to choose which registers you want to monitor.

We have a company writing a software application for us that will allow us to control the fermentors and monitor the various outputs coming from the fermentors (ph, DO, mixing rate, etc)...the PLC for the fermentor has about 1000 registers that the app developer says they need to know about...for instance, register 1 is for pH output, register 2 is for pH setpoint, etc, etc.

From what I understand, GX Developer FX allows us to simply get a "list" of all the registers available from the fermentors PLC?

Thanks Mchl,