"noobie" PLC selection

FOCUS

This is my first post on these forums, to hi to all. I'll try to make this simple, because I am really new to PLCs

I need to select a PLC for a project I am working on. The projects will be fairly simple, and require very little in terms of programming.

This is where I am at currently:

I need to know wheather I should use either an A-B Pico, or MicroLogix1000

The reason I ask is that while I believe the pico to be powerful enough for my application, the price differance between the 2 is very small. But that being said, programming packages for the 2 very GREATLY in cost. Am I better sticking to the Pico if it is capable of what I need just because it is cheaper to program?

I guess I should elaberate a bit more on what it is being used for, to truly know if the Pico is even enough for my application.

The PLC will have to control a light stack, a motor controller (forward and reverse), and a solenoid. So about 4 outputs.

It will take inputs from a reed switch, 3 prox's, and a few other inputs (maybe 3 misc.). The literature on the Pico says it can store approx. 250 rungs of ladder logic. Is this enough to control a simple cyclce that has maybe 7 'states' of operation?

Sorry if my terminology is way off, or that I am providing useless information, this is day number 2 for me sinse I have been looking into PLCs

I believe that there is a M-L 1000 only programming package that is very cost effective (perhaps free). Check the AB site.

It is hard to say if 250 rungs is enough. If your seven states involve a lot of interlocks or such, it might be tight. I'd opt for the Micro-Logix.

Such a strategic decision. 10 years from now you will think back at this moment.

The ML1000 may be the clever choice. As Tom says the minimum size 10 point ML1000 can be programmed with the free version of RSLogix500.