VPN for CompactLogix & PV+

Klausbird

First, I am quite happy to have found this forum, as it is always nice to gain experience & opinions from everyday users of these products. Manufacturers are not always useful or convenient.

Anyway, we currently (and in the past, as well) have a need to remotely access a customer’s control devices (plc’s, panelviews, etc) for de-buging purposes. I have nearly settled on using the AB 9300-RADES Modem Ethernet Switch, because it dosen’t require much technical skill to hookup and maintain for the customer. However, after speaking with some of my colleagues and checking through some of these forum threads, I have discovered the VPN option.

Like many others with similar questions, I have no prior knowledge of what VPN is and what is required to use it successfully. My customer has an AB L32E CompactLogix PLC and an AB PV+ 1000, and some RTA Serial-to-Ethernet/IP convertors. Currently there is no PC at the machine, and I would not like to add one just for this purpose. Although they probably have an IT department, the engineers and Maintenance personel I deal with are really not computer-savy (or PLC-savy). Therefore, I am a little concerned to ask them to setup something like this on their end. So, anyway, I hate to ask the same questions as others have, but I have not found a complete summary in plain english.

It is probably not as easy as this but, could you please list for me the required components on both ends of this VPN network, including the necessary features and drivers on these components? Thanks, in advance, for helping me make an educated decision.

[font=&quot]Klaus in Va[/font]

Hi,

I use a VPN system at work to gain remote access to site with VNC viewer. This was set up by our external IT department so unfortunatly i cannot detial how to set it up.