PanelView 300 outside

I'm new to the PLC game. I've been waiting for the boss to green light a PLC on a project since 1999...

We're going with a MicroLogix 1200 (1762-L40AWA, I believe, 40 I/O, 120VAC) with a Panel View 300. Originally we were looking at the Pico (nice little unit that I got the program done in an afternoon or so), but exceeded the I/O count (well, the output count at 7 motors, a solenoid valve, alarm strobe and 5 lights for different alarms). The boss didn't want to chain the Pico GFX models together.

The problem we have is that this is mounted in a NEMA 12 enclosure outside and the PV300 is not rated for outdoors. The rep has recommended using a window kit on the enclosure. We're already significantly over the low budget the boss put into the project for controls. We'll be well over 100% over budget with the window kit and 24VDC power supply for the PV300.

The other problem with the window kit is that it will be using valuable real estate on the panel doors which already will have switches and lights, disolved oxygen controllers and flow meters.

According to the rep, the main issue is the UV damaging the PV300 display and not water. Temperature extremes look to be 17F-115F (Livermore, CA).

The boss is at the point of returning the PV300 as we need to spend about $400 for the window kit and power supply (reps never mentioned the extra $120 for the power supply after I made it clear we were running all 120VAC.) :mad: (If those numbers give you an idea of how cheap the boss was wanting to do this for. The original PLC idea was greenlighted based on a sub-$200 PLC cost...)

So I guess my question is, would some kind of hood work instead of the door kit? Or is there an equivelent display out there that would work outside. The cabinet will be facing east (morning sun).

I do want to say that I spent the weekend off and on finding lots of good information on the site. Found a great idea of how to do an "hour meter" with a counter and timer.