Remote I/O Newbie

plgrooms

Hey everyone. Let me start by saying that I am a newbie to all PLC programming. The powers to be assumed since I am the IT Manager that I can do PLC's.
The problem:

SLC5/03 processor with a 1747-SN in slot 12.
1794-ASB w/1794-PS-13
1794-IA16/TB-3
1794-IA16/TB-3
1794-OA16/TB-3

How do I even begin with this? I have RSLOgix 500 configured for the 1747-SN but do not fully understand the DIP settings and the Group/G-file. Can someone help me?

what is the problem? is that system stopped working? or are you looking to add this?

rslogix 500 will be all you need to program this system.

There are plenty of guys who can help you with this, but first off, you have a mixed bag here. The SLC 5/03 has to be in an I/O rack with associated power supply and the 1747-SN has to be in a slot in that same rack. Now, that other hardware you have is called Flex I/O and can be made to operate with the other stuff via the remote I/O link that the SN module will allow you to have. Take a look on the www.AB.com site and you will find a link to the literature portion. It will probably take some in depth reading for you to get a grasp of what you have. Plus help from the guys here.

It's an addon to a current system that I have started doing. I have operator consoles that have never been controlled through a PLC and we are using a SLC 5/03 for this. I have I/O cards in the main rack and that logic works great. We however have an operator console that is further away and decided to use RIO for it. I have never worked with RIO and do not kow exactly where to start. I have the 1747-SN in slot 12 and the RIO rack is cabled back to it with the cards installed. How do I configure this and communicate with the remote addresses?