panelview 1200 to panelview plus

wilsonzhu

I have a project which is very old. It's panelview 1200 and PLC5 which connected by DH+, I am not sure why in the plc5 program, there is one rack(RIO) reserved for panelview 1200 (Those alarms are all connceted to this rack, but addresses are internals like N201:1 etc). Before I have done some standard panelview projects which is connected with Ethernet to PLC or SLC, There is no this Rack. If I want to convert to panelview plus. Do I still need this RIO Rack? Do I also change PLC5 program? Thanks.

im not an expert so dont quote me. rsview studio allows you to import in the old pba files.

also, if you want to do away with that old rack you can import in the plc 5 logic file and the rsview studio will build a database of hmi tags based on the logic tags in the program, since you cant direct address to anything other than controllogix.

I did try importing an old PanelView 1200 file into RSView once, and the amount of work needed to fix it up was almost the same as starting from scratch - a lot of things just didn't match up. So unless you really need to re-use the old project I wouldn't bother - I would start again from new. You can still maintain the same "look and feel" as the old project, and I've found that most old projects are in need of a tidy up anyway.

Usually the communications were RIO, you defined the PV1200 as a rack and then block transfer read and block transfer wrote to it from the PLC program.

The graphics weren't super hot, but they worked and were just about indestructible - we still have sites that use them.

Tim.