Alarms

themaninwi

I am fairly new to PLC and am programming my first complete machine. I have a good understanding of the logic to operate the machine.

However I am looking for a good suggestions for identifing alarm conditions. Like if the program stops because of a sensor that was not made. Or if some other condition that should be communicated to the operator.

I am doing this on a Horner PLC which I don't think should matter to much.

Any help on this would be appreaciated.

Thanks

Hi

I usually program in steps. Each step has certain conditions that must be met to continue. I usually have a step timer, so if the timer has elapsed and the condition is not met, i flag up the alarm. This approach needs thinking about when you do the initial programming.

You will need to do some kind of programming for the alarms. Do you want alarm acknowledge / reset capability or will they self clear.

Cheers

CJD1965,

Thanks for the suggestion. I would like the alarms to be reset by the operator. I would also like to provide some insight into what caused the fault. Such as sensor I 57 stuck or something. So if a slide is in the wrong position the operator has a place to start looking. The machine is a 6 station rotary dial with some hidden opeartions.

I have seen timers for each step that should work for a general station fault. I will see what I can do with that.

Thanks again

The hardest, yet most important, part of any automation project is to DEFINE what you want/need.

So, ask yourself the following questions?

What conditions should cause an alarm? How can I detect it (i.e., if you can't detect it, you can't alarm on it...)? How will I notify the operator? How does the alarm reset? How should the alarm be treated (i.e., just notify the operator -vs- cycle stop -vs- shutdown -vs- ...)?