Try as I might......

peterc49

Ok, this has all of the elements of a stupid question but try as I might, I have not been able find the answer. For example,in an AB 1400, if I set up for an input from I:0/0 and it goes true, is bit I:0.0/0 true? If I set up for I:0.0/1 and I:0/0 goes true does bit 1 go true. I'm having a difficult time understanding addressing as you may see. Thanks in advance for any help.

right-click on an EMPTY area of the ladder display ... then go to the "Address Display" tab ... play around with the different settings and watch how they affect the format of the addresses shown on the screen ... this will probably answer the questions you've asked ...

Thanks Ron. I'm at home trying to upgrade my limited self taught knowledge and I don't have access to the work computer.(We have RsLogix and they only paid for one license so I can't have it at home)

I:0.0/0

I = "Input" - I'm gussing you figured that part out

:0 = "Slot 0" - Again I think you have this

.0 = the first ("zeroeth") word from that slot. Some input modules have more than one word associated with them. This part can be left out, in which case word zero is assumed. Some instructions though may insist on the word part.

/0 = the zeroeth bit of the word. Without the "/x" section the reference is to the whole word. In some cases with a multi word item the bit reference can be set such that the word and the bit are shown. An alternative method is to treat all the words as a continous series of bits and show the number of the bit starting from the beginning without a word reference. (0 - 15 in first word, 16-31 in second word etc) (I get horribly confused by that and don't use it.)

But you refer to I:0.0 going "true". A complete word holds 16 bits, usually interpreted as a number. It usually is not interpreted as "true" or "not true". That type of designation is usually reserved for the bit level.

I haven't worked with the 1400, but have worked with the 1000s, 1200s