Need info on using PLC for Sawmill setworks

Lucky55

I am just starting to learn about PLC. I want to use a PLC with Human Machine Interface and Rotary Encoder to control the Bandsaw Mill Head for Motion Control and Cut Depth.

I think the the PLC would need two Relay outputs to control a Hyd. Control valve. What inputs would the PLC need for a Red Lion rotary encoder? I think I would also need some D1 inputs for the push buttons.

Would a person setup a counter to do this?

I would like 12 programable control point with a zero & home setting. For example cutting different board thickness.

Thanks,:confused:

You would probably be looking at a high speed counter. You'll want to find a PLC that has a set of high speed inputs. Some cheaper PLCs have a couple high speed inputs in the first section, the rest being normal.

I have done lots of these

First you should use a sevo quality valve.
Second, you should use a Temposonic or Balluff rod for position feed back.
A PLC doesn't have a fast enough counter to count the time between the start and stop pulses.
A PLC must use analog feed back or have a hydraulic motion controller card.
Your application is a easy one if you use the right equipment .

That isn't a hydraulic controller. These are hydraulic motion controllers

Enough nonsense. Those are motor controllers. They don't take into account that the gains are different in each direction because there is a piston rod. The PID for a motion controller is just that, a PID. That is good for controlling a motor where the dominate pole is the inertia of the motor and the load but a hydraulic system is a mass between to springs. The motor controllers fail here. PLCs fail here to because they are designed to control temperature systems with time constant in minutes not systems with a natural frequency and damping factor.

Check these guys out
http://www.motrona.com/