Need info on sprocket size for Conveyor Speed

Thomas42

Hi guys its my first time here so im not to sure how this works. But anyway, my goal is to keep the same speed i got for my conveyor belt.
Right now i got a 10 HP motor at 1750 rpm. with a gearbox ratio of 25/03.

The sproket on the gearbox has 29 teeth and approx 12.5 inch diameter. The sproket on the conveyor Drum has 21 teeth and approx 9 inch diameter. Because this 10 HP will not be strong enaugh for the way we are going to run the conveyor in the futur i got a 20HP at 1750rpm with a gearbox of 32.05. So here is my question what size sprocket will i need to run the same conveyor at the same speed but whit this new gearbox.

The Drum on the conveyor is approximately 11 inch. If my tachometer is good it seems to be traveling at 55 RPM.

Welcome to the forum!

This should be a simple matter of effective In:Out ratios. Both gearboxes and sprockets have In:Out ratios. For gearboxes it's expressed in turns, for sprockets it's expressed in diameter.

Draw yourself diagrams and do it on paper in whole numbers to help keep it clear.

Your existing gearbox is an In:Out ratio of 25:3, and your existing sprocket is an In:Out ratio of 12.5:9.

Express those as fractions and multiply them together: 25/3 * 25/18 = 625/54

Your new gearbox is an In:Out ratio of 32:5, and I think you're talking about a new sprocket on the gearbox, so that's a ratio of x:9.

Express those as fractions and multiply them together: 32/5 * x/9 = 32x/45

You want the two ratios to be equal, so it's an equation now.

32x/45 = 625/54 resolves to x/45 = 625/1728. Multiply both sides by 45 to get x.

So x = 28125/1728 = 16.276 inches diameter sprocket on the output of the new gearbox.

Who wants to check my math ? My sixth grade math teacher was Mrs. Anderson, by the way, who believed in the power of memorizing matrices.

Both gearboxes and sprockets have In:Out ratios. For gearboxes it's expressed in turns, for sprockets it's expressed in diameter.