4-20mA accuracy - Is it even possible?

Mischief55

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi Everyone,
The situation: 4-20mA Druck pressure transducer (5 psi, 138.5inches) in a lake. 1/4 mile from Aromat PLC reading in a scale of 0-8000.
Challenge: To read in the lake level to the nearest .1 inch.
Problem: Incoming signal is varying by 50 points. (57 points is 1 inch)
Questions:
Is it even possible to get the desired accuracy with this set up?
I am having trouble getting an extremely accurate milliamp reading as I only have a meter not an oscilloscope. Is this variation of .1 milliamp "normal"?
I am scanning at 3 milliseconds and taking a reading every .1 seconds to average 10 readings. Does this sound like a good averaging rate?
Any other advise on this would be greatly appreciated. I've been arguing with it on and off for 6 months.
Thanks everyone,
Sarah

Let me get this straight. Your trying to measure the level of a lake to a 1/10 of an inch? Now your seeing a fluctuation of less than an inch? Just a slight breeze on a lake, I would think would make it vary by much more than that!

Sarah,

Where is the pressure sensor mounted/ what does it’s diaphragm see? The fluctuations of almost an inch sounds like "waves", you may need to filter the sensing location to eliminate this noise. Think of an open ended cylinder that will allow the noise to occur outside the cylinder and the inside where the transducer is located should be much more stable. Height of the cylinder depends on the maximum level variation you are expecting.

MikeW

I guess I am curious as to how you are translating the pressure signal into a linear inch measurement? Is the device itself giving you an inch signal or is it giving you a pressure signal that you are mathing out to inches? Are you trying to do this by simply reading the pressure at the bottom of the lake?

OK, I see what it is now. Did you heed some of the warnings in the manual?

Vent Tubes