Rescaling 4-20mA Input with Separate Multiplier Adjustment

j2557

I am a beginner in the world of PLC, but my Google and Bing searches have been fruitless to this point so I am turning to this forum.

I am trying to take a 0-20mA input that corresponds to a specific speed range (0-5.9ft/min), multiply this value by an adjustable ratio (ie, 1.5x, so a value of 3ft/min becomes 4.5ft/min), then scale this input so that it matches a 0-20mA range of 0-300ft/min for input.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated, perhaps I am missing a simple solution?

If we knew the Brand and Model of the PLC you are using that would help.

The AB line of PLC's can scale the input to any units you want. This can be done either by instructions or via a module configurations.

Welcome to the forum. You've come to the right place.

I suggest you start with this thread:
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=15069. It is hands down the best explanation of scaling ever posted on the Internet. And I'm not trying to be obsequious, I just haven't seen it explained better anywhere. Its kind of long and Ron has two groupings of posts and answers a lot of questions. Even though it was geared around an AB PLC, the thread teaches what you need to understand in order to scale an analog value. Once you understand the principles of scaling as Ron explains it then you can do it on any PLC.

Last edited:
thank you, TConnolly, for the kind compliments ...

if anyone is interested, there's a free PDF version available for download on my website ... many people have found it easier to read - and to print - than the original forum thread ...

you'll find the links near the bottom of the "Sample Lessons and Videos" page ... I had to divide it into two sections since it was so long ... many people had trouble downloading it all at one time ...

Thank you Ron, TConnolly and Bullzi for the input, links and discussion, this was all extremely helpful!