Number Conversion

Tim Ganz

I have a PLC 5 program where the outlet drive speed ref is calculated to meters per minute and it's a floating point number. There is also a grinder that has a 4-20 ma analong output from the PLC 5 as it's speed command and currently there is a hard integer nunber of 6840 that is going to the analog output to control the grinder speed.

Now we want this grinder to follow the outlet drive speed and have a little offset.

I wish I could upload the program to the forum but it's against company policy.

I need to change the floating point number from the outlet drive in MPM to a integer number and then add an offset before it's send to the analog output controlling the grinder.

I am new to this part and have mostly been doing on off type control stuff in the plc. Can someone help me with the math to convert floating point MPM to an integer number.

Lot's of options here and lots of things to decide...depends on what resolution you want to maintain?

For example, if your MPM is 100.5, is the .5 important? If not, then simply do a MUL and multiply the float by 1 and store it in an INT file....

If .5 is important then multiply by 10, but realize that your final result is as such.

Once you have the result you have to figure out what to do with it. It appears your analog is currently unscaled with a value of 6840. So you'll need to unscale your result above and add it to the 6840. The question is what amount to unscale? Only you know that at this point.

Which PLC/5 are you using? If its an enhanced (model ends with 0) then we can use a CPT. If its not (model ends with 5) then well have to build it with discrete math.

------+-CPT----------------------------+-
|Destination OUTPUT|
|Expression |
|(DriveSpeedRef * Ratio) + Offset|
+--------------------------------+

You'll need to provide the ratio and offset values.

|Destination OUTPUT|
|Expression |