RSView32 VisualBasic help!

madrofl

hey guys. i'm new at RSView32 and trying to write VB codes for basic actions like multistate color. But i cant find a helpful link. if u guys have good sources or examples about VB for Rsview pls help me! :geek:

welcome to the forum ...

i'm new at RSView32 and trying to write VB codes for basic actions like multistate color

quick question: why? ... RSView32 already has built-in multistate indicators which will probably be a lot simpler to use than anything you could write in Visual Basic ...

but ...

if you're doing this just for a project to get used to Visual Basic (at least the way that RSView32 uses it) then see if this idea helps ...

if you load the SAMPLES project that comes with RSView32, there are quite a few examples built in to the system ... most of this is concerned with moving data around – but maybe the general ideas will help get you started ...

vb samples.jpg

thank u for your replies. really appreciated. i know its maybe unnecessary to use VB because there are lots of tools in RSView32. but still it's a powerfull tool in my opinion and can be useful for some projects.

Pedantic I...

There is a Multistate Indicator available for RSView32, but it is not built-in...

PanelBuilder provides a built-in MultiState Indicator object, as does FactoryTalk View ME and SE. However, RSView32 was not so lucky.

To rectify this, a few years ago, they released an ActiveX control for RSView32 to provide users with a type of add-on MultiState Indicator. Like any ActiveX control you must download, install and register the control file. They are usually dll or ocx files. In this case the control file is "Multistate_Indicator.ocx".

You can find a download link to the latest version of the MultiState Indicator ActiveX control for RSView32 in this Knowledgebase technote, which also confirms the above...

22856 - MultiState Indicator for RSView32
Access Level: Everyone