You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 13th, 2017, 02:30 PM   #1
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 615
rslogix 500 program help

Hi guys
I have a machine that works fine, but today we had an issue where the operator speeds the line up to 20cpm the feeder but didnt adjust the press settings to keep in sequence ? Which stops the line ?
Cut a long story short we have a little window to get the the cycle done on 20 cycle
The cycle is a prover drops the product into a stamper -which per presses the belt moves the product to a press and then presses the product flat for a set time - the press goes up and advances the belt that is a cycle
What I thought would be nice is to see how long that sequence takes from pre press to final discharge? On each cycle, is there any
thing hard about this ? Or is it as simple as per press starts the timer and discharge stops it?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2017, 03:07 PM   #2
tarik1978
Member
Morocco

tarik1978 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: casablanca
Posts: 399
I don't have rslogix500 handy now but you can do it like this:
If Pre_press true latch start_timer
If final_disharge true move accumalted timer value to cycle_time
Reset timer
Unlatch start_timer

Last edited by tarik1978; December 13th, 2017 at 03:13 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2017, 03:17 PM   #3
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 981
I think that would be fine. I would use a retentive timer to hold value. Parallel the timer timing bit if start press cycle does not stay true for the complete cycle and use XIO of Start Discharge to stop timing. If this is just a temporary thing to see cycle time then no need to capture and move to storage. You can manually reset the timer if you want to see more than one cycle.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2017, 11:18 AM   #4
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 152
I have a routine I used on a framing machine. 4 rungs. Maybe it will help. I mostly created it because the customer wanted an average time per cycle. The cycle is "bullpin to bullpin"
and you could take out some of the averaging logic. It's in studio 5000 v.30. If you still would like to look at it, let me know how to attach it to these replies. Haven't done that yet. Good luck.
__________________
Detroit City Limit: An Automation Alley Community
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2017, 12:13 PM   #5
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by saultgeorge View Post
If you still would like to look at it, let me know how to attach it to these replies. Haven't done that yet. Good luck.
ZIP the file you want to attach then, click reply... then you will see a button ((Attach Files)) click on that button, it will open a new window, there you will select the file (s) and upload, once done close that window and then click ((Submit Reply))

Then you should be done and anyone can open your zip to see your file

You can also do a screenshot if its something small
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2017, 12:32 PM   #6
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 615
Yeah send the file it would be interesting to see thanks stu
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2017, 10:50 AM   #7
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
ZIP the file you want to attach then, click reply... then you will see a button ((Attach Files)) click on that button, it will open a new window, there you will select the file (s) and upload, once done close that window and then click ((Submit Reply))

Then you should be done and anyone can open your zip to see your file

You can also do a screenshot if its something small
Thanks, I'll give it a try
__________________
Detroit City Limit: An Automation Alley Community
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2017, 11:04 AM   #8
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by stu View Post
Yeah send the file it would be interesting to see thanks stu
Stu
If you can see this routine, remember I had to average times for the customer, so you can probably just see what it would take to just get one time per cycle. The part goes into a tool called a bullpin squeezer, so when it enters and exits is the cycle time. If you can't see this, let me know in an email. Thanks, I'm new to this forum and I would really like to help someone someday.
Attached Files
File Type: zip T200_TIMERS.zip (5.1 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Detroit City Limit: An Automation Alley Community
  Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2017, 02:18 PM   #9
rootboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rootboy is offline
 
rootboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,313
Sounds like a job for AdvancedHMI.

I just created a short program that allowed me to run a tester in auto and it sends the results to my AdHMI program where I write the results to a file. Took about an hour to write.
__________________
Just because you can doesn't mean that you should...
  Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2017, 10:39 AM   #10
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 615
Sorry saultgeorge only just seen your reply thanks ?
I have had a go at this today and when the press counts 2 on the pre press Iíve latched a bit to starts a timer and then and then unlatched bit and resets the timer
But here is where Iím confused is I wanted to display the final cycle time on the screen how can I do this ?
Iíve attached the program so far ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 8D460ED8-A225-4C90-B306-CB3CDC541C47.jpg (33.7 KB, 69 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2017, 11:33 AM   #11
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 615
Not sure if that makes sense what I Put on ?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2017, 03:22 PM   #12
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 615
I have added another picture due to the poor quality.
Any ideas on how to get the valve displayed or is this the best practice
I stuck :-(
Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6396EAB2-F54B-496E-8CE3-6CA397055FE8.jpg (17.9 KB, 47 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLogix 500 one shot vs RSLogix 5000 one shot Prayder LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 29th, 2014 05:50 PM
converting a .rss RSlogix 500 program to PDF Davenjw LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 August 18th, 2014 06:34 AM
RSLogix 500, new program with old data Karac LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 May 10th, 2012 09:35 AM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 11:04 PM
Three Pump alternating program for RSLOGIX 500 Carlos V LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 27th, 2007 10:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


.