You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 15th, 2019, 03:11 PM   #1
FreeAtLast
Supporting Member
United States

FreeAtLast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Nashville
Posts: 9
Troubleshooting Excessive Velocity Error/PhysicalAxisFault

Hi All,
I have a 2097-V31PR0-LM Kinetix 350 and a TLY-A110T-Hxx2 servo. It is a new setup and I've commissioned the drive: Scaling, hookup tests, polarity, Autotune, which all worked fine. The hookup tests I did were "Motor and Feedback", "Motor Feedback" and "Marker".

The only logic in the PLC are 2 residual MSG instructions which I used to Disable the EnableInputChecking and the OvertravelChecking.

As soon as I give an MSO from the motion direct commands, the servo starts spinning and after about a second the drive faults and gives F55, Physical Axis Fault, Excessive Velocity Error. Where is the command coming from, telling it to spin as soon as the MSO is given?

This may be unrelated, but when I was first setting up the drive I was able to give an MSO without the servo running away or the drive faulting. Then, I changed the application type from Basic to Point-to-Point, and the Load ratio from 0 to 1, did another autotune and then opened the manual tune window. From that point on, even though I've changed the settings back to what they originally were, an MSO command has always caused the same fault.

Any ideas?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2019, 03:34 PM   #2
James Mcquade
Member
United States

James Mcquade is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,535
Just a guess on my part, what if you power down the entire drive, wait 30 seconds, then power back up?

james
  Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2019, 04:22 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,792
Double-check, then triple-check, then check one more time each of the encoder connections and the motor output connections.

A "runaway" axis that happens right after the Motion Servo On (MSO) command turns on the position control loop is almost always a single-phased motor (one loose motor output wire) or an encoder feedback wiring problem.

When a problem like that is present during initial tuning, you can get garbage autotune results, so the procedure is usually "disconnect everything, reconnect everything, repeat tuning".

If you can spin the servo shaft by hand, that's a good way to check the feedback wiring to see if you can read the Current Position and get results that are consistent with the configuration of the encoder.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2019, 08:40 AM   #4
FreeAtLast
Supporting Member
United States

FreeAtLast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Nashville
Posts: 9
Unfortunately, power cycling the drive did not fix it. I've double-checked and triple-checked all the wiring and everything is wired as the manual says to wire it.

The thing that confuses me is that the hookup tests work without a problem. The motor and feedback test accurately moves the motor the commanded 360 degrees. And the Motor Feedback test accurately identifies the polarity.

What else can I check?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2019, 09:38 AM   #5
tarik1978
Member
Morocco

tarik1978 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: casablanca
Posts: 503
As Ken siad the issue is an incorrect motor connections to the drive
check this technote:Excessive velocity error on Kinetix 350 after successful hookup and autotune.
https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....il/a_id/768440
  Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2019, 10:27 PM   #6
chantecler
Member
Venezuela

chantecler is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Caracas
Posts: 12
My guess: check if you have a motor feedback parameter called Startup Method and try changing it.
Another option is deleting the axis and creating it again
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 03:12 PM   #7
FreeAtLast
Supporting Member
United States

FreeAtLast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Nashville
Posts: 9
Well, unfortunately this was never fully resolved. Here is what we found: Deleting the axis and starting from scratch did seem to stop the runaway problem. However, after adding a new axis and autotuning, the unloaded shaft still (about 1/2 the time) would drift and correct itself. It would bounce back and forth through an angle of about 30deg.

When I rotated the shaft by hand, it would easily allow me to rotate it, and it would "cog" every 40 or 50 deg and sometimes not servo back to its original position.

However, this was not repeatable, and it often would servo.
One behavior that was repeatable, was that if we commanded it to jog forward it would sort of jump or cog in 50-60deg intervals. This could be smoothed out by increasing the system damping in the Manual Tuning parameters.

Rockwell tech support agreed with the previous posts, that it was behaving like it was single phasing, or not commutating.
We tried new drive, and saw the same exact behavior. For now, we aren't going to replace the motor or cables, because it seems to be managed by increasing the system damping (for example from 1.0 to 0.7).

Thanks to everyone for your help.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACS800 Motion Control widelto LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 92 April 19th, 2014 12:03 PM
Is anyone interested in how to compute the velocity and acceleration from an encoder? Peter Nachtwey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 32 December 11th, 2011 01:33 PM
Calculating velocity Peter Nachtwey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 December 1st, 2010 04:08 PM
PID - Simple Velocity Control Peter Nachtwey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 July 9th, 2004 04:39 PM
Velocity vs Torque TimothyMoulder LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 29th, 2003 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


.