You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 13th, 2019, 09:30 AM   #1
buffalonymann
Member
United States

buffalonymann is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 30
Need PLC with 175 I/O...

Hi. I'm trying to find a PLC that can handle about 175 I/O nearly evenly split between DI and DO. DO needs to handle 2Amp and 24VDC

This is strictly timer sequences and turning I/O on and off. No Motion, Temp, or anything else.

Any ideas?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2019, 09:37 AM   #2
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,863
Just about anybody who makes PLCs has one that can meet those specs.
A few reasons for selecting one over another, in no particular order:
1. What do you already have in your facility?
2. What do you already have software for?
3. What local distributor do you already deal with?
4. What are you and the people in your facility who will have to live with your choice already familiar and comfortable with?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2019, 09:39 AM   #3
buffalonymann
Member
United States

buffalonymann is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 30
I'm trying to do it at lowest cost possible - wonder if anybody knows of any programmable relays that can handle the number of I/O
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2019, 09:46 AM   #4
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,673
I would use a Horner unit with remote I/O.
Better than smart relay units, plus it comes with and LCD screen (or touch-screen).

The price is right and the software is free.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2019, 10:00 AM   #5
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,443
Just for the space I would look at WAGO or one of them and they should be cheap per I/O
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2019, 10:29 AM   #6
kallileo
Member
Greece

kallileo is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Thessaloniki, Macedonia, Hellas
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalonymann View Post
DO needs to handle 2Amp and 24VDC
What type of load?
For 2A@24VDC I would go with a transistor output card and interposing relays.
__________________
automationofthings.blogspot.com
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2019, 10:36 AM   #7
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by kallileo View Post
What type of load?
For 2A@24VDC I would go with a transistor output card and interposing relays.
I dont think I would... thats a lot of relays and another place for potential failure, I would try to get a higher rated output card if needed and go direct, also depends on the amount of cycles the outputs are going to make.
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2019, 11:04 AM   #8
exabmorgan
Member
United States

exabmorgan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 67
Sounds about right for Door control on a Jail? Solenoids, motors and limit switches?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2019, 01:22 PM   #9
Jonnie_R
Member
Wales

Jonnie_R is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brecon
Posts: 188
Have a look at the Idec FC6 range, that can do up to 520 I/O and is reasonably priced, at least in the UK.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2019, 03:55 PM   #10
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 2,709
Go for WAGO when it is industrial, when you want it cheap have a look at Arduino. It is cheap , however it is fast.
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype shooter paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2019, 10:17 AM   #11
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 3,416
If your PLC can support a fieldbus, check out the Balluff IO link products; with IO link the count can really add up fast.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2019, 05:26 AM   #12
mad4x4
Member
United Kingdom

mad4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ST CYrus
Posts: 28
If cost is an issue then I would look at Weidmuller U-Remote or WAGO IO both on the Ethernet IP protocol both will play well with Rockwell and give you cost effective IO.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2019, 05:14 PM   #13
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,785
AB Micro870 handles up to 304 I/O, outputs are relay, rated at 2A 24VDC, software for it is free.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2019, 07:10 PM   #14
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by jraef View Post
AB Micro870 handles up to 304 I/O, outputs are relay, rated at 2A 24VDC, software for it is free.
Is that all local I/O? If so, the buggers must support a lot of expansion modules!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2019, 02:42 AM   #15
ktmtragic
Member
Australia

ktmtragic is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 78
Check out advantech
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC Update - Back Issues Collection Now Available! Phil Melore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 October 22nd, 2015 02:17 AM
Io neilot LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 June 30th, 2014 05:22 PM
k120s ls plc with smart i/o begad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 6th, 2013 03:00 PM
Repeating I/O across a network without a PLC s_dibona LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 January 9th, 2013 06:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM.


.