You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 5th, 2017, 03:05 AM   #1
Rob...
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

Rob... is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Manchester
Posts: 145
Angry TIA Portal V14 - Tag Comments

Ok, so I've recently been given a project to do in portal V.14 after a good few months using studio 5000.

I know there isn't a way to do this in V.13.1 that I was previously using but was hoping dearly that this would have been fixed in this update.

Is there any way to show tag comments above the tag when programming in LAD, like studio 5000 (and every other software package I've used do!).

I know Siemens are going down the symbolic tag route, but as everyone knows the more description you can add to your code, the easier it is for someone else/maintenance to deal with down the line.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 04:55 AM   #2
VictorBit
Member
Sweden

VictorBit is offline
 
VictorBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 81
Hello Rob,

There is,

1.Options
2.Settings
3.PLC programming
4. Under general settings for PLC programming you have the possibility to change the View ( at the operand representation)

//Vic
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 04:57 AM   #3
VictorBit
Member
Sweden

VictorBit is offline
 
VictorBit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 81
Please see the following picture
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Hiere.jpg (35.8 KB, 84 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 06:14 AM   #4
Rob...
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

Rob... is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Manchester
Posts: 145
VictorBit

Taken a look at that, and it's not what I'm after unfortunately.

Thanks for the input.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 08:07 AM   #5
mk42
Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 1,956
Rob,

I think it's actually the setting right after the ones he circled. Set "Location of tag information" to "At LAD/FB address".

However, this capability was only introduced in V14 SP1, so if you're at 14 with no SP then you'll need to upgrade. I've been waiting for this for years.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 08:36 AM   #6
Rob...
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

Rob... is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Manchester
Posts: 145
Well, we get all the updates as an SI, so I'll dig that out. Update to SP1 and get back to you all.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 02:08 PM   #7
kalabdel
Member
Canada

kalabdel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 357
View menu will give you access to those options.
The "Tag Information" option above the one shown in the picture should have what you're looking for
Attached Images
File Type: jpg view_tags.jpg (58.7 KB, 67 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2017, 07:47 AM   #8
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,423
I always choose "below LAD/FBD network".
If you choose "at LAD/FBD network" then the networks bloom out and becomes unreadable just because of the size.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2017, 08:16 AM   #9
mk42
Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 1,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
I always choose "below LAD/FBD network".
If you choose "at LAD/FBD network" then the networks bloom out and becomes unreadable just because of the size.
The downside of comments below is that you need to cross reference the tag above in the logic with the tag below with the comments. If there is a complex rung above it, the table can get rather beefy. It takes up less space overall, but it makes it harder to match a tag to its comments.

The reason this becomes important (in my experience) is that I work with a lot of Rockwell programmers who are used to the tag comment and tag name being always together in the code, and the tag comment ends up being pretty much required to understand what is going on. I see many situations where the wire number (VL1551) is the tag name, and the actual function is the description (Hot water valve open). I also see countless situations where they have an array of bits (in a DINT) with different comments for each of the bits to indicate its use, and they are pretty much meaningless without the comments.

There are other ways to solve these problems via Siemens best practices, but most of the systems I work on have dual spec Siemens & Rockwell, and the Siemens code spec was written by an AB trained guy who wanted it to match exactly.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2017, 08:36 AM   #10
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,423
I guess that for comments "at LAD/FBD network" you need to selfimpose a limit to the length of the tag comments. I tend to be quite verbose, better too much than too little.

The tag symbols on the other hand must be reasonably meaningful. So much that they really help with the understanding of the code. I mean, why have symbols if they dont help; you could just as well remove the symbols altogether.
I name symbols after the connected item which follows functions and item naming, plus a small helpful description, i.e. for a sensor it could be "=W1-BG2_end_position".
To use wirenumbers sounds a really bad choice IMO.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2017, 08:55 AM   #11
Rob...
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

Rob... is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Manchester
Posts: 145
We will generally use tags relating to the P&ID drawings.

So for instance AVxxZSO

(Automated Valve xx Open Limit)

Where the xx designation would be a number, an I would normally write a comment such as "Plant Inlet Valve Open Limit".

I have a excel sheet built up that auto generates tags, comments and lays them out ready for importing into Logix, AutoCAD. Saves a huge amount of time.

However just having a tag AVxxZSO won't mean much for maintenance or someone new reading the code without prior knowledge of the plant or looking all over the P&ID.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens TIA Portal V13 Help Nan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 May 18th, 2017 01:40 PM
Siemens TIA Portal V13 EZMarquee Help Nan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 May 18th, 2017 01:38 PM
Siemens SIMATIC WinCC TIA Portal v14 - Is Indirect tagging Possible? DenZ_P LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 24th, 2017 06:51 AM
Upload and version problems with TIA Portal Wino LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 6th, 2015 12:43 PM
STL comments Tia Portal doyke14 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 April 10th, 2013 04:40 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


.