You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 15th, 2008, 08:13 PM   #1
timbo_uk
Member
United Kingdom

timbo_uk is offline
 
timbo_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 336
AB DH485 pinouts?

Hi again gurus

I need to bring a second PLC (SLC 5/03) under control of a Telemec XBTGT2220 HMI. The HMI is all ready connected to a Micrologix 1000 with DF1 protocol through the HMI comms port 1 (9 pin DIN).

There is a second port on the HMI marked RS485. This can be configured as DH485. I need to connect to the 5/03 via DH485. This can be done, but again wiring is the issue.

Schneider (Telemec) say I need cable XBTZ9732 and adaptor XBTZG939. But this combination is only 2m long, I need 20! Nobody will tell me the pinouts; I dont want to spend another 45 on this job just to find the connections!

The com2 socket on the HMI is just an RJ45 socket:


This is the socket info from Telemec. Anyone got the pinouts for the DH485 socket on the SLC 5/03?

Can I just use a standard cat5 cable?

I really dont want to blow any of the ports!

Has anyone done similar and made a note of the connections?

Heres Hoping
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 08:49 PM   #2
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 8,351
Here's the cable pin-out. Be careful
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 08:55 PM   #3
timbo_uk
Member
United Kingdom

timbo_uk is offline
 
timbo_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 336
Thanks Mickey.
Looking at this it keeps mentioning the AIC unit. It also looks like the cable is just a straight through, so can anyone say if a cat5 cable will do the job direct without using any AIC's ?

Tim
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 08:59 PM   #4
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 8,351
Be careful!! There is 24VDC on the port of the SLC5/03. Take a look at the diagram of the cable again.
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2008, 09:09 PM   #5
timbo_uk
Member
United Kingdom

timbo_uk is offline
 
timbo_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bradford, UK
Posts: 336
Ooops.
Tired now on the night shift; only 4 hours sleep last night (or yesterday, whatever it was!)



P1 COLOR FUNCTION P2


1 RED CH. B TX/RC 1 TOP
2 BLACK CH. A TX/RC 2
3 BROWN +24 VDC 3 **
4 WHITE SIGNAL GND 4
5 BLUE TX-EN 5
6 DRAIN EARTH GND 6 **
7 GREEN SIGNAL GND 7
8 ORANGE +24 VDC 8 BOTTOM


I cannot see how these relate to the telemec diagram.
Think I should leave it untill tommorow night. Brains hurting now



Last edited by timbo_uk; January 15th, 2008 at 09:16 PM. Reason: fonts too big! (pasting the pinouts in has corrupted fonts, I am not shouting !!)
  Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 01:46 PM   #6
electro89
Member
Canada

electro89 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 61
any luck with this? attempted to do the same thing but no communication!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
old AB cable pinouts 1747-c13 mordred LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 5th, 2007 08:52 AM
AB dh485 Comms setup iamthelad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 27th, 2005 01:04 PM
AB DH485 problem Shawn Cassidy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 January 21st, 2005 11:08 PM
Adding nodes to the DH485 network Oliascobra LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 April 22nd, 2004 01:44 PM
AB Pinouts Tom Jenkins LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 2nd, 2002 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.


.