You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 30th, 2009, 11:20 AM   #1
kittydog42
Member
United States

kittydog42 is offline
 
kittydog42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Naperville
Posts: 210
Automation Direct & GE Fanuc VersaMax Micro: 24VAC On 24VDC Inputs?

I have been transitioning new applications to the GE Fanuc VersaMax Micro 14 from the Automation Direct DL-05 due to issues that I have been having over the last 5 years with digital input failures with the latter.

I had tinkered around with applying 24VAC into the DC inputs on the Automation Direct, and it seemed to work with some filtering logic to remove the frequency oscillations. It seemed as though the hardware is isolated and can take it without damage. I remember a thread about that but can't find it now.

Does anyone know if the GE Fanuc VersaMax Micro can accept this voltage as well? They will not explicitly allow it (because it is not on the specs)if I ask their tech support department. It seems to work but I don't know if it will damage the equipment over time.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 12:26 PM   #2
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 3,775
I can't speak to that with confidence, but it seems that you would at least damage the protection built in to most digital inputs.

Why not use solenoid drivers to gracefully convert the 24VAC to 24 VDC? Not terribly expensive, and they can usually fit right on the terminal strip in place of normal straight-through terminals.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 01:19 PM   #3
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8,690
Quote:
I remember a thread about that but can't find it now.
Kittydog,

This may be the one you were thinking of. I remembered it also.

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/search....archid=1293670
  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 02:03 PM   #4
kittydog42
Member
United States

kittydog42 is offline
 
kittydog42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Naperville
Posts: 210
Lancie1, that is what I was looking for. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 08:18 PM   #5
RussB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

RussB is offline
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,907
A side note:
The GE Fanuc Series 1 and Jr. had I/O that was designed for 24 Volts AC or DC.
Ahh, the octal days.
__________________
LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
Dominus Vobiscum <))>(
"Where is the wisdom that we have lost in knowledge?" T.S. Elliot


  Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 08:53 PM   #6
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8,690
The Good Old Days!

Quote:
Ahh, the octal days.
Russ, you have created a PLC term for "the good old days". Very funny!

Last edited by Lancie1; April 30th, 2009 at 08:56 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2009, 11:15 AM   #7
kittydog42
Member
United States

kittydog42 is offline
 
kittydog42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Naperville
Posts: 210
If you miss octal, program with DirectSoft...and you won't miss it for long!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2009, 05:31 PM   #8
keithkyll
Member
United States

keithkyll is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lucas, TX
Posts: 1,302
The input to a PLC is an optoisolator. The diode (LED) inside can't take more than 5 volts reverse voltage. I suspect this is what's getting damaged when you hit it with AC.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE FANUC Series One Lithoservice LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 October 24th, 2007 06:39 PM
GE Fanuc VersaMax Easy Program Store Device CaseyK LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 13th, 2004 06:38 PM
GE Fanuc T/W Interface I/O help needed Johnny T LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 28th, 2004 02:26 AM
GE Fanuc Versamax HSC ComReqs BarryP LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 18th, 2003 05:29 AM
GE Fanuc Automation to Acquire Intellution from Emerson Rick Densing LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 22nd, 2002 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


.