You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:17 PM   #1
Killercal
Member
Canada

Killercal is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 114
Adding a Module in RSLogix 5000

Hello all,

I'm trying to add a Flex I/O module to a current system for a testing/trial.

Chassis set up:
[0] 1756-L61 (controller)
[1] 1765-ENET/A
[2] 1765-ENET/A
.
.
.
.
[10] 1756-HSC
[11] 1756-HSC
[12] 1756-HSC

I am having trouble with the 1756-HSC cards missing counts and would like to try to use the 1794-VHSC in there place. I have a 1794-AENT so I will be putting this on the Ethernet network. When I open up my program and right click on the [1] 1756-ENET module, the "New Module..." is greyed out. Can I use this card to connect the flex I/O network or do I need a bridge card (i.e. 1756-ENBT?)

Thanks,

Killercal.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:21 PM   #2
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,161
You need the bridge (-ENBT). The ENET module can't be used for I/O.

Whay do you believe the 1794-VHSC will perform any better than the 1756-HSC?

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:24 PM   #3
jkerekes
Member
United States

jkerekes is offline
 
jkerekes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,614
Are you trying to do this online? You need to do this offline. The ENET module is fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:27 PM   #4
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,441
I agrre with the above post. You must be offline to add the module.
Don't forget that you also have to configure your AENT for slots, modules, etc when you add it.
Just a reminder.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:32 PM   #5
Killercal
Member
Canada

Killercal is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 114
I personally don't think it will change anything at all, but the customer wants to try this method as they have the Flex I/O working on another machine which is some what similar.

Jkerekes, I am offline right now.

So you both contradict each other, can I use the ENET or not?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:35 PM   #6
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,441
The offline part I'm sure.
ENET, haven't tried it, only ENBT and it worked.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:38 PM   #7
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,441
Must be offline and must use ENBT
Just tested!
ENET won't do.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:41 PM   #8
Killercal
Member
Canada

Killercal is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 114
Thanks all. I will have to search for a ENBT module!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:46 PM   #9
jkerekes
Member
United States

jkerekes is offline
 
jkerekes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,614
The 1756-ENET/B module performs two primary tasks:
1.
Control of real time I/O data (also known as “implicit messaging”)
in conjunction with a Logix 5550 controller. The Ethernet module
may serve as an adaptor, interfacing the I/O modules to the
network, or as a scanner, sending and receiving data between the
controller and the network.

2.
Support of messaging data for configuration and programming
information, operator interfaces, etc. (also known as “explicit
messaging.”).

What CLX revision are you using? I don't have an ENET module to try, but offline Logix5000 allows me to add a Flex I/O "rack".

  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 01:51 PM   #10
Killercal
Member
Canada

Killercal is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 114
V17 for RSL5000 and V16 on the CLX processor.

upon further investagation we have ENBT cards just set up as ENET cards in the tree. I will change this and work from here.

Thank you all for you help.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 02:12 PM   #11
bkottaras
Member
United States

bkottaras is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,441
ENET/B will work, ENET/A will not work.
Just ried it.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 09:33 PM   #12
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 2,069
Darn you bkottaras!!

I started reading this going "series B, series B" and you stole my thunder!

ENBT is better (more throughput capacity) but Series B ENET should work.

However, how do they think a remotely located module will outperform a local module? Seems backwards to me. Of course it will probably work though!

OG
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PID Control Action Mode in RSLOGIX 5000 plcnovel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 January 19th, 2011 08:30 AM
Help a RSLogix 5 guy learn to search RSLogix 5000 wildswing LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 25th, 2009 12:05 PM
Rockwell RSlogix 5000 activation without floppy matt_sd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 11th, 2009 09:15 PM
RSLogix 5000 data file advice/preference rta53 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 June 29th, 2006 01:10 AM
RSLogix 5000 eastkodakguy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 3rd, 2002 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


.