20 comm C connect to PLC5/40C

abambang

we're currently replacing starter mars with VFD powerflex700 with 20 COMM C communication adapter. we're use PLC5/40C. i read in this forum they're different version of controlnet which PLC5/40C version 1.25 and 20 COMM C higher version. i want to know is it any possibility to make connection between PLC to VFD ? or i should change communication adapter using 20 COMM R ?

ControlNet Phase 1.25 controllers are very uncommon. Are you working on a Solar Turbines generator control system ?

20-COMM-C modules are compatible only with ControlNet Phase 1.5 controllers and network modules.

The Allen-Bradley Universal Remote I/O protocol, on the other hand, has been the same since 1977. Any RIO adapter (including the 20-COMM-R) is compatible with any PLC-5 controller.

i'm a DCS engineer and my company has a plan to change air starter to VFD on mars compressor solar turbine. right know i'm review this small project. so with 20 comm c communication adapter my PLC5/40C can communicate with the VFD? then i should not change the communication adapter to 20 COMM R ?.

20-COMM-C modules are compatible only with ControlNet Phase 1.5 controllers and network modules.

PLC-5/40C = 1785-L40C = ControlNet Phase 1.25
PLC-5/40C15 = 1785-L40C15 = ControlNet Phase 1.5

Solar Turbines was one of the major users of ControlNet Phase 1.25 controllers, in particular the 1785-L40C controller, when ControlNet was introduced in the late 1990s.