5069-IY4 V2.012 on Studio v33.015 - Cannot set thermocouple type

drforsythe

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have a fair amount of Logix and Studio experience, but this is my first project with Studio v33 and a 5069 CPU and -IY4 card.

The processor is a 5069-L306ERS2 with firmware 33.015 loaded. Among other cards, I have a 5069-IY4 version 2.012 in the rack. I was able to add the card to the rack configuration and select thermocouple for the appropriate input. The problem I am having is that I cannot change the units from degrees Celsius and I also cannot select a Type J thermocouple. It does not state what type of thermocouple is selected, it simply states that the range is -100mV to 100mV. I cannot change the High or Low Signal or the High or Low Engineering, either. Has anyone seen this? It is not like other analog cards I have set up. I saw some images on the web from v31 or 32 and the configuration interface looks totally different and has settings for different types of thermocouples. If anyone has any insight, I would appreciate your thoughts.

Did you try to configure it offline and then push the program back into the PLC? I know I'm sick of keeping track of Rockwell's "known anomalies" as well.

- I've been using Studio v32 and the v2.013 IY4 cards

I've noticed that the module configuration dialog has changed pretty dramatically in newer versions of Studio. When I add an -IY4 to that processor offline, the module properties dialog box has a tree view on the left side. At the "Channels" level, you select just Thermocouple, High/Low Signal/Engineering. If you go down a level to Ch00, you can select TC type and Temperature units. I don't have that hardware, so I can't tell which settings are available while online, but you can get to them while offline.

When you change the TC/units settings on the Ch00 page, it reflects the change in the Engineering columns of the Channels page.

Thank you for your responses.