AB plc ethernet / router comms

ian.smith7

Hi
In our factory we have 10 or more control panels, most of these use AB plcs and ethernet for local comms (mostly SLC 5/03 and above with a couple of CLX and PV+ HMIs). However they have very different IP address ranges. Some of our maintenance guys have trouble getting the laptop(s) comms adjusted to connect into these local networks.
I have suggested fitting routers to all the panels so that reconfiguring the laptop for each panel is not required and also as a first step towards installing a factory scada system.
So now I have been asked to spec and price the routers (Me and my big mouth!). I would appreciate some help to do this as although I understand what a router does I have no practical experience using them.
Does any one have a recomended router for use in this situation?
What specifications are required for the router to operate with the scada system (which will be a standalone network running windows / AB software)?
Thanks for any help or advice
cheers
ian

Take a step back.

Before even thinking about purchasing equipment put your thoughts on paper.

First you need to plan out your IP addressing scheme, and implement it before networking them together.

For example, think of a home network that uses 192.168.Y.X addressing, use this as a template for your network. The subent is 255.255.0.0 in these beginning steps.

Y = Machine group number
X = Equipment number

So, lets say you have 10 pieces of equipment, each will be assigned a machine group number (1 - 10) and will have a single PLC and HMI.

The PLC will have an equipment number of 2, the HMI will be 3.

So on machine 1, the IP Address are:
PLC: 192.168.1.2
HMI: 192.168.1.3

Machine 2:
PLC: 192.168.2.2
HMI: 192.168.2.3
Machine 10:
PLC: 192.168.10.2
HMI: 192.168.10.3

Doing it this way leaves plenty of IP addresses for each system, as well as it keeps it organized.