Allen Bradley PLC with Universal Robot and Keyence vision

dlingle774

I am a college student in my 2nd year of Automated systems and for my final project me and my classmate are looking to hook up a Universal Robots UR3 with a Keyence cvx-302-f vision system through an Allen Bradley PLC and are having troubles getting the coordinates from the vision to the robot through the plc. I am wondering if there is some sort of software we are missing in the plc or robot or how we should go about getting it done. Any help will be greatly appreciated thank you in advance.

Have you been able to get anything from the camera to the PLC? I would like more info about the PLC and how you have everything set up? Also what are you trying to get the robot to do?

Yes I can get the info from camera to plc and were trying to do a pick and place application with bolts. The plc is a compactlogics 1769 we have it all connected via ethernet through and enet switch. I was also able to get the robot and plc to communicate with universal robots eip sample project.

Welcome to the forum.

we used Cognex rather than keyence and was within .4mm
what is your setup?
from the camera, what is the communications to the plc?
from the plc, what is the communications and interface to the robot?
regards,
james

Welcome to the forum!

First of all, it definitely seems like a doable project. This is a good start as sometimes college students are pushed into projects way beyond the possible scope :D
What's your architecture? I'm guessing everything is connected to each other using ethernet? What is the AB PLC that you are referring to?

Are you online with the PLC? If so, you have to download Universal's EDS file and add it to the rockwell PLC as an ethernet module. Then enable the Ethernet/IP option in the UR Teach pendant.