Analog vs Digital outputs for motor control

mikeyp

Hi guys this is my first time posting here. I have an Allen Bradley Micrologix 1000 PLC with all digital outputs. I also have a Baldor VS1ST Microdrive for the motor. The specific PLC model that I have only has digital outputs. Is there any way I can vary the motor speed with this combination using digital instead of using an analog output? Or do I pretty much have to switch my PLC for one that has an analog out. Thanks!

Is there any way I can vary the motor speed with this combination using digital instead of using an analog output?
Yes, there is a way, but whether it is suitable can only be determined by knowing exactly what speeds you need.

For example, most motor drives have preset speeds that can be controlled with digital inputs (PLC digital outputs) to the motor drive terminal blocks.

I see that your Baldor Microdrive has 2 digital inputs that can be used for preset speeds, and has up to 4 preset speeds that can be defined by the user. Using these 4 preset speeds, you could use 2 of your Mircologix 1000 digital oututs to control 4 different speeds of the motor. Then you could use 1 other output to Start/Stop the drive. Therefore, you can control Start, Stop, Speed 1, Speed 2, Speed 3, and Speed 4.

Using 4 preset speeds, and by setting the internal drive parameters for Acceleration and Deacceleration times, and Min and Max speeds, you could achieve fair control over the drive.

However, to get variable speed control from 0 to 100%, you would need a PLC with some type of analog output.

Last edited:
Thanks for the quick response! The application is an automatic door controller. So using preset speeds could work it will just be slightly more annoying programming the speeds from the motor driver instead of through the touchscreen connected to the PLC. Thanks again!