Automation Studio: Store sensor values for 5 seconds and extract minimum value

afm

Hi all,

I am working with an IO link sensor (measuring current across motor)and need to read in and store the sensor values for 5 seconds, then extract the minimum value from the data set. I am a beginner in ladder programming and automation studio and have only used the MOVE block for array storage, but not for a sensor with constantly changing values. I know there is probably a very straightforward solution, but any help is appreciated. Thanks!

How many readings in the 5 seconds do you need ? is it every scan? if so then at a scan time of 20ms that would be 250 registers or tags or array of 250.
It certainly is going to take some processor time to extract the lowest because you will have to itterate through the array to find it, then for that instance it will increase you scan time, The other way is to do it on a change, so you store the value then compare the current value with the last if it is lower then store that, just keep doing this for 5 seconds before resetting it.
so in the 5 seconds it will have the lowest value in that 5 seconds but check every scan without any hungry processing.
However, you will almost certainly need to put a delay timer on the logic when the motor is first energised as the PLC will scan faster than the contactor will pull in so initially you would have 0 as your lowest number so there can be no lower number.
I suggest on start of the motor you do a oneshot to load perhaps what would be the highest reading into the lowest store variable, run a timer off the output for the motor to start a timer & use the timer up bit to enable the comparison. run a reciprocating timer for the 5 seconds i.e. it gives a one scan pulse every 5 seconds.

Last edited:
Is there some reason you need to store data for five seconds, or do you just need to find the lowest value within a five second period?