Class 1 Division 1 w/PanelviewPlus

JZerb

If you were to take a Panelview Plus, mount that in an enclosure that is purged by a purge unit that takes the environment from Class 1 Division 1 down to a non-hazardous area. Does that now make the Panelview Plus sufficient for the area? Or would one need an intrinsically safe touch screen setup?

I think the PV is only rated for Div II, so my initial thought would be you can't use it on a Div I enclosure with the screen exposed.

I have seen hmi's mounted to pressurized enclosures with their own access doors (via key) - which should essentially just be an extension of the main enclosure if sealed properly.
I believe the screen must be behind a protective window to meet the c1d1 requirements - unfortunately that means it can't be touched during normal operation.

I'm no expert, so hopefully someone with more knowledge can chime in!

The access door was an idea tossed around where I work. That you could do something in which the operator could use the HMI while the machine was not in operation. Then once the machine had to be used you’d have to close the access door and use a push button to start the process. Wasn’t sure if that was a legit way of doing it or not personally.

The access door was an idea tossed around where I work. That you could do something in which the operator could use the HMI while the machine was not in operation. Then once the machine had to be used you’d have to close the access door and use a push button to start the process. Wasn’t sure if that was a legit way of doing it or not personally.

I would say for that to fly, you probably would have to hard wire the power supply of the panel to the access door switch. OSHA or equivalents don't tend to accept pinky swear as a control measure.

panelview terminals are rated class 1 div 2, class 2 div 2.