Connecting Panelview 800 to Micrologix 1100... Newbie Help

Skaletskik

Hello Everyone,
I am a college student at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville. My professor is having me integrate a Panelview 800 HMI into a Micrologix 1100 PLC. Only problem is I have never done any of this before and I am more than lost. I am starting from just figuring out how to program basic ladder logic a week ago. I currently have RSlogix 500, LS Linx, and Connected Components Workbench. I am mainly struggling on how to connect the HMI onto my programming computer along with setting the correct IP address.

I apologize in advance for all of the beginner questions I will be asking, but this project is very exciting and I do enjoy what I am doing a lot. I am just struggling immensely with it. My professor has not been helping me so I am kind of on my own here. Hopefully you guys will be able to help me out here. Thank you all very much.

Kyle S.

Welcome to the forum! It will help if you post which models of PLC and HMI you are using. The numbers will be written on the devices and look something like 2711R-T4T and 1763-L1BBB.

Having said that, when you power the HMI up, it should have a configuration screen that allows you to access a number of features. For network settings refer to p55.

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/2711r-um001_-en-e.pdf

Once you have done that. Start a new CCW project, and add the HMI to it with the correct model number. I usually set up the network address on the terminal and then connect CCW through ethernet.