Control Sequence Pump

ConNhaNong

Hi everyone, I am a newbie and I have trouble in the control sequence. I have a system with 4 pumps. The required:

Ex: Push a button to start in order 1,3,4,2 -> pump 1, 3, 4 and 2 will work in order. When push the stop button: Pump 2,4,3,1 will stop in order.

Please help me. TIA

What PLC are you using ? (this helps us as we can tailor ways to do it easier)
How long between each pump starting & stopping i.e. is it secons or minutes.
Do you need to change the order at anytime.
perhaps the best way is use an up/down counter driven off a timer i.e.
When button is pressed to start (suggest a toggle i.e. push to latch push again to unlatch).
There are probably many ways but this works if you need a different time delay then replace the clock with a timer that just resets itself

As I said, we need more information.

But it is sometimes possible to create timed logic using atomic instructions. Here is @parky's logic in a slightly different form, starting or stopping one more pump every 2s. The SCAN_TIME_10KHZ_TIKS is specific to some of the Allen-Bradley PLCs (i.e. S:35 on MicroLogix), but it could as easily be a constant of 1 that essentiall uses average scan duration (~1ms i.e. ~1kHz) as a poor-man's timer tick.
Untitled.png

A few important questions that will have an impact on the design of your logic: Is the sequence of starting and stopping always the same or will you need to change it from time to time? Do you need to remove any pump from service for maintenance? Do you always need four pumps, or are there times when three or fewer will be sufficient? What happens if any of the pumps fail to start?