ControlLogix - Periodic Task

strauden

Hi Guys,

I've got a problem with a ControlLogix 1756-l61 controller where Watchdog Fault - Periodic task overlap is causing problems.

However it appears that the Priority 1 task (which normally takes 5ms) which is our I/O task and does nothing but map some digitals and analogs is occasionally taking up to 500ms scan time (which is the watchdog limit).

My understanding is that nothing should interrupt the Priority one task (not using motion planner) and as such there is no way that the I/O task should take that long. Is this correct?
So it would appear that the CPU is due for replacement (10 years old) ?

Thanks for your time once again!

I'm not an expert but I found a source that indicates there is a task monitor tool in Studio 5000.

The Rockwell manual I was looking in was 1756-pm005_-en-p. Hope this helps.

Yea I used the task monitor tool to see the stats.
I know that the interval should be close to the period, around 50ms. And as it is priority 1, nothing should interupt it. And as it is simple the I/O task it should only take around 5 ms Scan Time.

Type = Periodic
Period (ms) = 50
Priority = 1
Watchdog (ms) = 500
Scan Time Max (ms) = 403.41
Interval Time Max (ms) = 450.006
Interval Time Min (ms) = 46.389
Overlaps = 12

If this is a simple buffering task, you shouldn't see scan times like that.

Remember, the scheduler in your setup will attempt to execute the periodic task every 50 ms, even if the task to be executed is the one executing. Sooo, for some reason, a subset of that task's executions are taking longer-than-usual and longer-than-tolerable (time-to-execute > period). This is the source of the overlap count.

Check the code for any loops, or perhaps a math-intensive CPT or subroutine call. Is this task also doing the analog scaling work?