CPU Fault on power loss on a slc 501

rrparker07

Lifetime Supporting Member
I'm going nuts trying to figure this one out.

I have a processor that faults every time the power is cycled. The thing is, when it faults it won't let me online to see what the fault is. I get a message that states "can't go online with faulted processor "no program"". It also says must perform download. Under that, there are two buttons: one that says cancel and won that says load from EEPROM. If I click load from EEPROM it loads fine. If I download the program it works. I have tried different combinations of the memory module bits S1/10 - 12 to see if this would help. When I changed them, I also burned the EEPROM so they would match. The battery is brand new.

One side note, when I burn the EEPROM it kicks me offline. I'm fairly new to PLC's and don't know if you're supposed to get a message saying it burned OK.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Roy

try searching this site there is a lot of info on this. Basically the program that you have downloaded in to the processor gets erased upon power down. That’s why you get a fault back on power up because there is no program written. Check the battery on the processor or the power supply on the chassis.

Last edited:
- Processor Fault​
"FLT" LED is either RED Solid or RED Flashing

- Fault persists even after clearing/defaulting the Processor Memory
- Fault occurs either before or after going into RUN Mode​
Check for Error Codes:​
If the processor shows a​
"FLT" indicator Flashing RED, you should be able to determine the
particular error code by going on-line with your programming terminal loaded with the proper
software RSLogix 500.
See the error code descriptions and causes table found in the SLC 500 Reference Manual and do
recommended action(s) to correct the problem.
To find the processor Major Error code under S:6, click on Processor Status and then the Errors
tab (see below).