Decimal to Fraction Dilema

RickParrot

Hi, All
I have received the task of measuring a process down to a 1/64 of an inch. No problem with the laser's range and mA value. Maximum value is 7 foot even. So the span is 5,376(7x12x64) Problem is displaying the decimal value into three intergers/floats so that I can grab them and throw them onto a Panelview. Production people won't know, and won't learn that 32.265625 equals:
32 17/64".
Any easy way of doing this or is it inherently complicated. Fractions need to be reduced if possible.šŸ™ƒ

I understand how to reduce the fraction, what I am hoping for how to SIMPLY chop up the value (say 2,777) and get it into 3 floats which would end up as F8:1= 43 (inches), F8:2= 25 (fraction numerator), and F8:3= 64(fraction denominator)(64ths) Obviously, I'm not a professor at this.

Take a look at this thread: http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=35587 Using the DIV function there is this: "The unrounded quotient is placed in the most significant word of the math register; the remainder is placed in the least significant word."

S:13
Math Register (Least significant word of 32-bit value)
S:14
Math Register (Most significant word of 32-bit value)

Divide your total counts (in 64ths) by 64 and then check those two registers: S:13 and S:14. S:14 should be your distance in inches and S:13 your fractional distance, in 64ths.

I am assuming you are wanting to display for example 31.5 as 31 1/2", and will not accept 31 32/64. The look up table is the simplest to understand.

expanding then on keshik's

Code:
//N7:0 = your input, eg 5376
//N7:1 = whole inches
//N7:2 = Fraction Numerator
//N7:3 = Fraction Denominator
//N7:4 = Dummy register
//N20:0 to 63 = look up table of Numerators (0,1,1,3,1,5,3,7,1...)
//N21:0 to 63 = look up table of Denominators (64,64,32,64,16,64,32,64,8...)
DIV N7:0 64 N7:4  //Do a divide by 64, placing the rounded(nearest) result in N7:4, rounded(down) result in S:14, and remainder (x/64) in S:13