Enable OPC UA Server option on an already programmed PLC

Azbb0

Hello, im new to this PLC World, im a student currently in an internship, my boss wanted to know if i knew if there is any way to extract data from the PLC to see it in real time or as close as it can, i started to investigate and found OPC UA as an option, the PLC also has Secomea sitemanager but i found it very hard to setup and also kinda impossible to know the id tags of the things we want to see

My problem is:

I found OPC UA as an option and ET-200 CPU or S7-1500 is what we have currently in like 13 assembly lines, i connected succesfully using TIA v18 but when trying to do an "Upload from device" i got several errors, mostly wrong software, i needed TIA V17 and startdrive something something

I got TIA V17 and tried again only to receive the error that

"The consistent fail-safe upload is not enabled for the online device. Either the online device doesn't support fail-safe upload or the appropriate setting in the safety administration editor is not active and downloaded."

Searching i found out that maybe the program its block and i cant do a backup

My plan was to do a Backup of the PLC, modify some settings to setup OPC UA and then load it up to the PLC again
But now that im locked out of that option

Is it possible to enable OPC UA Server on the PLC without deleting the program it already has

It's been a while since I had access to Portal, but as I recall the safety software was a separate license. If the PLC has safety programming in it, and you don't have that license, you might get that error.

Or...it could be locked by the developer. If that's the case and you don't have the source code and password, you're out of luck.

You need to get in contact with the original programmer.