Error logging on mitsubishi PLC

bk306

Hi, I am hoping to implement an error logging system on an existing automated assembly machine.

The assembly operation is sequenced by a mitsubishi PLC (FX series)

When a fault (normally a missing component) is detected the PLC stops the assembly operation and sends an error message to the HMI advising the operator of which specific error has occurred, presumably by raising the appropriate internal flags.

I have been tasked with implementing a way of logging how often each error code occurs, and ideally how long the downtime is associated with each error code.

I would really appreciate any advice you can give me on how to go about this including what software/hardware I might need and anything else that might be useful! I have some experience in PLC programming but have never worked with mitsubishi PLCs or attempted anything like this before.

Thanks for your help - please let me know if any more information is needed,

Beth

BK306, In the FX series PLCs if an error is detected then bit M8004 is turned on and register D8004 will contain the error code. You can use these bits to record the occasions of errors on to an HMI screen. Also clock data during these errors are stored in data registers D8013-D8019. (Looking at old notes so you might need to verify this). With this information you can MOV the register information into a logging screen when triggered by M8004 for instance.

Sergei - I think with a name of Beth it might not be a 'he'

the logging you are looking for can usually be done on the HMI
it is only a matter of sending a number of alarms from the PLC to the HMI

what type of HMI are you using and does it have a CF card or USB option?

EDIT
By the way
Welcome to the site Beth.

Last edited:
Thanks for your help guys - at this stage any information is useful!

The HMI currently installed is the most basic GT1030-LBD option so I suspect it simply won't do what I want it to.