FactoryTalk View SE communication with Micrologix/RSlogix 500 program

Jasondelane

Lifetime Supporting Member
I'm brand new to HMI in general and FactoryTalk View SE. I've got my test box out with the Micrologix 1500 in it. I'm trying to figure out how to integrate a View SE client into my test program. I've figured out how to import the addresses to the View Studio application, and assign them to "buttons" in the display, but how do I tell RSLogix 500 to look for inputs from the momentary buttons I've created?

Thanks again ya'll!

I dunno about this scenario...FTVSE is using RSLinx Enterprise for Data Server services...MicroLogix CPU family does not "talk" Linx Enterprise....
MicroLogix again...Rockwell must have made a fortune with misguided customers...
MicroLogix processors are a far cry from Logix class CPUs(ControlLogix, CompactLogix, FlexLogix) even if their names' suffixes are identical...:sick:
You will need a bottom feeder CompactLogix CPU in your test box for FTVSE or if the MicroLogix is locked-in you will nee a PanelView Component HMI terminal or the RSView 32 software application if you want a distributed, client based application.

RSLinx Classic works fine with the MicroLogix and FTView SE.
Just set up an RLinx Classic data server.
Done.

Yes, if there is an available RSLinx Classic(OEM activation- on the same machine as the FTVSE Server or Gateway activation on the FTVSE LAN) you could create a Topic pointing to the ML controller and add the Linx OPC Server to the FTVSE project tree(if not there already).
RSLinx Classic licenses cost significantly more than a test CompactLogix CPU; if you decide to purchase/install a Linx OPC Server within a FTVSE system be careful when editing the SE project- you could shut the entire system down in no time.

I'm running all this from my laptop which has Linx classic, RS500, RS5000, FTalkViewStudio Enterprise, FTalkView SE Client, and a bunch of other stuff.