First time ever setting up FactoryTalk Alarms and Events-Need help!

DKelly19

Hi everyone!
First time posting to this, so should give you a bit of background info on myself to explain the situation i'm in.
I am a beginner programmer, and got a new job about 6 weeks ago as an automation engineer where i would learn on-site training as well as studying an Automation & Instrumentation college course online a few nights a week.
I've been working and learning from home mostly due to COVID-19 and have an AB PLC with an AB panelview plus 7 HMI to practice on, alongside a simple box with 3 output lights and 3 input switches to control.

There is 3 phases to this training rig;
Phase 1 was create a traffic light program with set times.
Phase 2 was create a HMI display with login access, screen to control lights and show when they are active, as well as a settings menu to change the timers from the HMI.

Phase 3 is to be able to (a) log data into SQL database whenever someone logs on to the HMI programand when they change a timer, and (b) log everytime the sequence is started using transaction manager.

Phase 3 is what i am currently on and am finding it hard to get the information i am looking for, finding databases a bit confusing, i've managed all the rest by myself no problem.

What software exactly do i need to complete this?
Is there a step-by-step tutorial that anyone would recommend?

I have been using Studio 5000 and Factorytalk view studio to date.

Apologies for the long post, but thank you in advance!

I am not an expert on this, so the info I give you may not be the best or most efficient. Have you checked out Youtube? There are some tutorials on setting up and using FT Alarms and Events. I would start there if I were you. Best of luck on your training.

I've tried youtube but finding it a bit hard to understand some of them, may just need a bit more digging! cheers!

That’s a tough gig for a Panelview, SE would be easy but ME, not so much.