Getting started with touch screens, need help on software needed

white6174

I've been tinkering with PLC's for a few years now, I need a little help figuring out what extra software I need for some projects I'll be working on.(fyi - I've been a programmer using VB.net for 7+ years along with a little bit of web development)

I currently have rslogix 500 starter that I purchased along with a micrologix 1200 and then added on an analog card(this is what I've been practicing with)

The projects will have touch screens, I believe the customer has some pv 1000's laying around that they may use, but they may just purchase new ones for the projects. I believe the project will use either a 5-03 or a micrologix. The projects will also be using some analog inputs and possibly outputs.

Questions

panelbuilder32 vs Factory Talk View Studio, is Factory Talk View Studio in sense a newer version of panelbuilder32 used for newer touch screens only?

Is there any charts showing which software programs program which touch screen?

---------
Will the rslogix 500 starter be fine or would I need to get standard?(I purchased it a few years back I don't thing I can upgrade, I don't pay any yearly fee for upgrades or support)

Will my free version of rslinx be fine to communicate to the touchscreen?

Anything special needed if the touch screen is over 100 foot away from the PLC?

I don't think the project will use ethernet, its only available in standard or pro correct?

thanks for any help you may be able to provide.

steve

I *think* this is all correct. YMMV.

The standard PanelView line uses the PanelBuilder32 software.

Any of the + models or the +Ce line will use the newer FactoryTalk View Se/Me
You need the correct version of View Studio for the firmware release you will be loading onto the panels as well.
The + models only require the ME component of FactoryTalk View.
I can't remember if the Ce models take advantage of the Se stuff, but I don't believe so.