GX Developer Lead/Lag logic

tobytommas65

I am a novice at ladder logic programming but I needed a lead/lag function for two pumps that I am controlling. I bought a cheap FX1N(C) board from Alibaba and our shop had a old copy of the freeware GX developer lying around.

Anyways the logic below is what I came up with. Seems to work.

Welcome to the forum.

Are you honestly trolling* for comments and/or suggestions?

* non-"internet trolling" i.e. non-malicious trolling

First of all you do not need M0 just use X0 in place of M0 also no need to use M3, there are special relays M8000 > these have various functions like Always true always false, true for first scan etc.
M8000 is always true while PLC is in run
M8001 is false
M8002 is on for first scan of PLC.
So instead of M3 just use M8000 to move zero into the D register.
Just noticed that this will not work at all as when X0 (M0) goes off then it will cause Y0 or Y1 to go false and as this is before the add function that requires Y0 or Y1 to be on it will be false so never adds or subtracts the value.
In saying that if it does work on yours then I suspect that the FX1N you may have could be a clone and not a real Mitsubishi there are a lot about and the I/O may work differently, on a true FX1 this logic will not work and to prove it I just tried it, you need to move the two add/subtract lines before the outputs i.e. move them between lines 8 & 10.
In actual fact this logic is not duty but really a flip/flop i.e. when X0 goes on first time it runs pump 1 then as it is toggled it switches between pump 1 & pump 2.

You should read the manual there are lots of functions that can reduce your code as this example, it alternates between the two pumps using the ALT function the code only takes 3 lines including the outputs.

ALT.png

I concur with what parky says:

• the code, as written, will not work on most PLCs, for the reason parky states;