How bad could this get (VFD Overheating)

JasonSelf

So, my boss quoted a panel to a client with a ControlLogix rack and (4) 30HP Powerflex 70 VFD's. The enclosure is completely enclosed and the VFD's are surface mounted, not flange mounted. I asked him if he might want to put some cooling or ventilation in the panel, maybe a few large fans and he told me "No, it isn't going to get that hot". This thing is in an equipment room for a water treatment plant. I did some calcs to see how much heat gain I am going to have and after seeing the numbers I am wondering how bad this is going to get.

I am not sure if that is a question or a statement...maybe just a vent (pardon the pun).

First of all, I would recommend to separate your drives and controls into different cabinets.

Second, 30 HP, would be about 22 kW if I am correct? I would definitely put some ventilation in there.

If I look at this document, page 10, I see that the maximum temperature is 40/50 C. I have no experience with the Powerflex VFD's, but I imagine if you run all 4 off them at full capacity, in an fully enclosed panel, you will run up the temperature pretty darn fast.

I asked him if he might want to put some cooling or ventilation in the panel, maybe a few large fans and he told me "No, it isn't going to get that hot".
Sorry he's wrong, it will get hot. I just put 4- 5hp drives in a enclosure and had to increase the fan size "because I thought it would not get that hot" :mad:

Just like my tag line says: There is never enough money to do it right but always enough money to do it over. He will regret this decision!!