how to generate a train of bit pulses with RSLogix5000?

buhnen

Hi to everybody here!

I'm a newbie in the Allen Bradley world, I've just come from Siemens S7-300 and though I'm getting well with RSLogix 5000 I still have some problems:

I want to do something very easy. The idea is next: An analogic input linked to a ControlLogix PLC must perform a set of serial readings each 10 minutes and simultaneously go saving the results within an array of 6 elements. After one hour (6 readings * 10 minutes = 60 minutes)the PLC must do a math operation AVE (average) with those 6 saved results...This is the general idea.

Normally in Siemens I'd use a special mark (an status bit SM0.1 and I'd get a train of pulses and with a counter I would manage)...but in RSLogix 5000 I can't find an equivalent status bit (like In SLC-500)that, for instance, be able to generate a train with step-rhythms of a minute.

I've thought of using the WALLCLOCKTIME + GSV but I'm not sure if that would be the more "professional" option in this case.

Other doubt is: How would I simulate an analogic input with values changing when for testing the program?

Thanks in advance for your help,

PS (excuse my english, I'm not native speaker)

Just create a periodic task, and put your counter in there. (Simple ADD 1 MyCounter MyCounter) would work)

Or, if you don't like periodic tasks, use a free running timer, with a period of 10 minutes. (XIO MyTimer.DN TON MyTimer 600000 0)
Use the XIC .DN bit to trigger your calculation.

Using the WallClockTime is also valid, if absolute accuracy is required. You can just use the minutes portion, and perhaps divide it by 10, then feed that into a DTR instruction. That will give you a one shot pulse every time 10 minutes goes by.

If using WallClockTime, I usually suggest making a global array for the received values, (DINT GL_WC_Time[7] for example) and using that anywhere you need to reference any time function.